Memoir of a Social Worker

As a social worker I’m a witness to so many different kinds of pain and while I’m mostly prepared for what that entails, I have to say that at this early point in my career, being a social worker to someone who’s dying of a terminal illness is one of the toughest things ever. Likewise, but perhaps to a lesser degree, it’s also one of the toughest things ever to try to work as usual after a close coworker gives their two-week notice. It takes an emotional toll knowing that an inevitable farewell will have to occur soon.

This week I’m dealing with the aftermath of both of those kinds of farewells.

Last Thursday a social worker who has been a part of our team for almost two years and who has been my dear friend and colleague all this time shared her farewells to the rest of the staff…

View original post 1,224 more words

