In light of the recent SCOTUS ruling on gay marriage (which is def exciting), I hearken back to the lectures my American Studies prof gave back in my undergrad years, arguing there needs to be a movement beyond marriage, and even beyond the hundreds (over 1,100) rights that are tied to marriage. The concerning reality is that whether LGBTQ+ people can legally marry or not, it doesn’t fundamentally change the debilitating socioeconomic barriers and discrimination they likely face everyday. So it’s my hope that that heterosexual and gay allies to the movement don’t quickly think the movement victorious and done with this recent ruling. History repeatedly teaches me that what becomes legal on a document shouldn’t necessarily be translated to what life is actually like. As there is much to celebrate, still much challenging work remains in the movement for LGBTQ+ equality.

We must think beyond marriage.

